Thursday, May 23, 2024

Watchdog Group Reveals ‘Enemies of the Internet’ List for 2012

Datamation content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

BGR: The media group Reporters Without Borders has published its annual “Enemies of the Internet” list for 2012. As in previous years, the list names countries whose governments are deemed hostile to the free flow of ideas. New to the list this year was Bahrain, which joins Belarus, Burma, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Vietnam. Following the overthrow of Moammar Gadhafi, Libya came off the list.

The group also published a list of countries under surveillance for possible inclusion as a future enemy of the Internet. Somewhat surprisingly, it included France and Australia, as well as Egypt, Eritrea, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

Subscribe to Data Insider

Learn the latest news and best practices about data science, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, data security, and more.

Similar articles

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Data Insider for top news, trends & analysis

Latest Articles