Monday, May 20, 2024

Certification Watch: CIW Web Developer Exam Launched

Datamation content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

The Certified Internet Webmaster (CIW) program has just released the exam for the CIW Web Developer certification.

Earning this new title requires passing a single exam covering writing application control logic, writing application display logic, utilizing Java-related business services, exposing application components using Web services, and other Web development topics. The exam (#1D0-532/$125) is available through Prometric and VUE test centers.

The CIW Web developer certification is also part of the jCert Initiative program. The jCert Initiative is working to create and support a unified Java certification road map where vendors recognize each other’s Java certifications and fit them into an overall map organized around job roles.

Current members of jCert include BEA, IBM, Sun Microsystems, CGS, Prosofttraining, SkillSoft and Prometric. More information is available on the jCert Web site.

Microsoft Office User Specialist (MOUS) Renamed

Microsoft has renamed its Microsoft Office User Specialist program, dropping the word User from the designation. Effective immediately, all new certifications earned under this program will be issued using the new designation: Microsoft Office Specialist. Previously issued certifications will remain valid.

The Office Specialist program certifies core, expert, and master level expertise with individual Microsoft Office applications, including Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, and Outlook. More than 500,000 people have earned Office Specialist certifications since the program’s inception in 1997. Currently about 20,000 new certifications are issued worldwide each month.

More details on the Microsoft Office Specialist certification are available on

More Certification News has launched a Web-based exam practice center for professional certification candidates. For more information, click

MCT 2003 Begins

In other Microsoft news, Microsoft will begin accepting Microsoft Certified Trainer (MCT) applications for the 2003 version of the annually renewable MCT program on October 1. To qualify, candidates must maintain a premier MCP Certification, deliver at least two Microsoft training courses, earn 15 Technical Continuing Education Credits (CECs), and earn five Instructional Continuing Education Credits (CECs) during the course of the year. Complete 2003 MCT program guidelines can be found on the Microsoft Web site.

Nortel To Retire Several Certifications, Launch 18 Others

As part of the extensive revision of its certification program, Nortel Networks will be retiring several Enterprise Voice certifications and their associated exams as of Dec. 31.

Retiring exams include Nortel Networks Certified Support Specialist (NNCSS) – Voice Solutions exam 920-300 series, plus several exams that are for Nortel distributors only. Anyone working toward a certification slated for retirement will have to complete the requirements before Dec. 31.

During the fourth quarter of 2002 and first quarter of 2003, Nortel is planning to launch 18 new certifications covering Enterprise Voice over IP (VoIP) and Customer Contact and Voice Portal Solutions. The certifications will be spread across all levels of the Nortel certification program, including the Nortel Networks Certified Design Specialist (NNCDS), Nortel Networks Certified Field Specialist (NNCFS), Nortel Networks Certified Support Specialist (NNCSS), Nortel Networks Certified Design Expert (NNCDE), and Nortel Networks Certified Support Expert (NNCSE) titles.

For full details on these changes, see the Nortel Web site.

Exam Cram Series to be Reborn as Exam Cram2

The certification group at Que Publishing has acquired and will breathe new life into the Exam Cram series of certification preparation guides. The Exam Cram books, popular among certification candidates preparing for exams, were originally published by the Coriolis Group, which was shut down in April by its majority owner Haights Cross Communications. New books in the series will carry the name Exam Cram2.

The first Exam Cram2 books are already listed on the QUE Web site as:

  • MCSA Managing a Windows 2000 Network Environment Exam Cram2 (70-218)
  • J2EE Web Component Developer Exam Cram2 (310-080)
  • MCSE Windows XP Professional Exam Cram2 (70-270)
  • Network+ Exam Cram2
  • A+ Exam Cram2 (220-201, 220-202)
  • Solaris 9 System Administrator Exam Cram2 (310-014 & 310-015)

The first five are slated for publication in November. The Solaris 9 title has a December publication date.

That’s all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your
certification news and tips coming to

Anne Martinez is the author of Cheap Web Tricks: Build and Promote a Successful Web Site Without Spending A Dime and Get Certified and Get Ahead. She also is the founder of

– IT Management Career Newsletter –
Sign Up Today!


Subscribe to Data Insider

Learn the latest news and best practices about data science, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, data security, and more.

Similar articles

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Data Insider for top news, trends & analysis

Latest Articles