Sunday, June 16, 2024

Nortel Releases VoIP, Security Certifications

Datamation content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

In contrast to last month’s flurry of certification activity, there are only a few news items to report in this issue. New certifications and exams continue to roll out, providing IT professionals with many credentials to choose among.

Nortel Networks Releases VoIP, Security Certifications

Nortel has launched two new certifications. The first, VoIP Succession Design Specialist, covers Succession 3.0, an enterprise call server software that supports call server and gateway redundancy, IP telephony scalability to 10,000 IP clients/call server, and survivable branch office solutions.

In order to achieve VoIP Succession 1000/1000M Rls. 3.0 Design Specialist certification, you must successfully complete two exams, VoIP Technology (#920-801) and Succession 1000/1000M Rls. 3.0 (#920-137). You should also have three to six months related work experience.

Additional certifications are in development for Succession 1000/1000M Rls. 3.0, including two Support Specialist certifications slated for November release, and a Design Expert certification scheduled for beta testing in December with a target release of February 2004. A Support Expert certification for Succession will not be far behind.

The second new title is Nortel Networks Certified Support Expert in Alteon Security (NNCSE-Alteon). In order to earn it you must hold a Nortel Networks Certified Support Specialist (NNCSS) certification in Alteon plus successfully complete the new Alteon Security (#920-448) exam. This proctored exam covers a range of Alteon products with a focus on Alteon Switched Firewall (30% of exam questions), Alteon SSL Accelerator (34% of exam questions), Alteon SSL VPN Accelerator (10% of exam questions), and Alteon Web OS and Alteon OS (26% of exam questions).

For more a list of all Nortel Networks certifications see the GoCertify Nortel page.

Check Point Releases CCMSE Plus VSX Exam
The exam for Check Point Certified Managed Security Expert Plus VSX certification has been released. CCMSE Plus VSX is an advanced certification for security professionals implementing Check Point’s VSX security solution, managed by Provider-1 NG. This designation has CCSA NG, CCSE NG, and CCMSE NG certifications as prerequisites. With this new title, Check Point now offers six certifications.

New Citrix CCA Exam to Arrive November 24th

Citrix is replacing its current CCA Exam (#221) with a new version (#222) on Nov. 24. The new exam will incorporate coverage of MetaFrame XP Presentation Server, Feature Release 3. Individuals already certified on CCA exam 221 are not required to take the new exam to retain certification. You can view a FAQ on the exam update at the Citrix Web site.

New Exams from IBM

IBM has released a fresh crop of certification exams. Most of them are replacements for exams that tested on earlier product versions. Here’s the list:

  • IBM Certified System Administrator – WebSphere Business Integration Message Broker V5
  • IBM Certified Specialist – High End Tape Solutions Version 2 (replaces Version 1)
  • IBM Certified Specialist – Storage Sales Version 5 (replaces Version 4)
  • IBM Certified Specialist – TotalStorage Networking and Virtualization Architecture (replaces TotalStorage Networking Solutions Version 2)
  • IBM Certified Specialist – Grid Computing Technical Sales

That’s all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your
certification news and tips coming to


Subscribe to Data Insider

Learn the latest news and best practices about data science, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, data security, and more.

Similar articles

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Data Insider for top news, trends & analysis

Latest Articles