Saturday, June 15, 2024

Certification Watch: Cisco Adds IP Telephony Certifications

Datamation content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

As of May 14, IT professionals who work with Cisco products have another set of certifications to choose from: Cisco IP Telephony Design Specialist and Cisco IP Telephony Operations Specialist.

The Design Specialist title requires candidates to already hold Cisco’s CCDA title, plus pass two additional exams: Enterprise Voice over Data Design exam 9E0-411 and Deploying Quality of Service (DQoS) exam 9E0-601.

To earn the Operations Specialist title, candidates must hold a CCNA plus pass IP Telephony Troubleshooting exam 9E0-421 and the DQoS exam. You can read about all of Cisco’s IP Telephony certification options at:

(ISC)2 Adds Endorsement Requirement for CISSP Candidates

Starting June 1, candidates for the Certified Information Systems Security Professional certification will have an additional hurdle to clear before becoming a CISSP. Once a candidate has met the experience requirements and passed the six-hour exam, they will also have to have their application endorsed by another CISSP, the candidate’s employer, or another licensed, certified professional.

Candidates will have approximately 90 days after passing the exam to submit the endorsement or they will have to start the entire process over.

In addition, (ISC)2 will be randomly selecting candidates for auditing. Selected candidates will be required to submit a resume for formal review and investigation.

According to (ISC)2, the new measures are intended to protect and secure the value of CISSP certification. You can read more about them on the (ISC)2 site.

Free Nortel Beta Exams Still Available

Considering a run at Nortel Networks certification? There is still time to try it for free by taking a beta exam on June 5 for Support Specialist, Periphonics, Media Processing Server (MPS) 100 or Application Developer (#921-120).

To request a free email voucher from Nortel email with the exam name and number. Space is limited so do it today if you are interested.

Certified Unix System Administrator (CUSA) Renamed to CSA

The Certified Unix System Administrator (CUSA) title (originally launched by SCO but now operated by Caldera International) has been renamed to a more generic title: Certified System Administrator (CSA).

According to Jennifer Heldenbrand of Caldera Education, this was done so that the CSA title can also be used to indicate expertise in Linux system administration. The change is part of an overall update of Caldera’s certification offerings. The three-level program now incorporates Linux at each level. Individuals who wish to demonstrate expertise with Unix and Linux administration can earn the Master ACE title.

Microsoft Transcripts Now Include Versions, New Logos Ready

As originally announced several months ago, official Microsoft transcripts now include certification versions. This is accomplished simply by adding a “version” column beside the certification name. Certified individuals can view their transcript on the MCP Secure site. The revised MCP logos are also available there.

Oracle Internet DBO Exam To Retire Oct. 15

Oracle has announced plans to retire the Oracle Certified Professional Internet Database Operator exam on Oct. 15, 2002. Candidates who attain certification before then will remain certified.

Anne Martinez is the author of Cheap Web Tricks: Build and Promote a Successful Web Site Without Spending A Dime and Get Certified and Get Ahead. She also is the founder of

Subscribe to Data Insider

Learn the latest news and best practices about data science, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, data security, and more.

Similar articles

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Data Insider for top news, trends & analysis

Latest Articles