Saturday, May 18, 2024

10 Top Cloud Computing Certifications

Datamation content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

Cloud computing certifications enable data professionals to gain vendor- and platform-specific skills and specializations in the growing cloud job market. 

The field of cloud computing is rapidly growing and evolving as more companies migrate their data to cloud environments and look add to their cloud teams.

To break into cloud computing or boost your career, here are the 10 top cloud computing certificates to consider:

Cloud Computing Certifications

1. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner is a beginner-friendly certification program. The program and examination are made for anyone looking to get into cloud computing as a whole and AWS in particular.

The course covers the basics of IT as well as the core functionality of AWS services. Also, the certification serves as proof of your fluency in cloud computing and foundational AWS knowledge. The certification doesn’t expire.

Duration: Self-paced; six months

Location: Online

Cost: $100

AWS Cloud Practitioner full practice exam can be found here.

2. Microsoft Certified: Azure Fundamentals

The Azure Fundamentals certification by Microsoft is a program for people with minimal experience in Azure. It covers general cloud skills, security, solutions, and management, Azure services, and service-level agreements.

The certification gets you up to speed with basic Azure knowledge that can set you up for higher-level Microsoft Azure certifications. The certification has no expiration date.

Duration: Self-paced or instruction-led

Location: Online

Cost: $99

Here is a complete beginner’s course that includes a practice test!

3. Google Associate Cloud Engineer

The Google Associate Cloud Engineer certification provides proof of your grasp of the fundamentals of Google Cloud. It’s beginner-friendly but recommends six or more months of experience.

By the end of the official exam, you’ll be able to set up a cloud solution environment, manage storage and databases, and configure access on Google Cloud. Valid for two years from the examination date.

Duration: Self-paced

Location: Online

Cost: $125

Check out this practice exam!

4. Google Professional Cloud Architect

The Google Professional Cloud Architect certification is for people with at least a three-year background in cloud computing looking to become solution architects in the Google Cloud environment.

The program will teach you how to develop, deploy, and manage web applications on the cloud. It’ll teach you how to design for security and compliance, analyze and optimize technical processes, and provision the cloud solution infrastructure. The certification is valid for two years from the certification date.

Duration: Self-paced

Location: Online

Cost: $200

Check out this practice exam for Google Professional Cloud Architect certification!

5. Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate

The Azure Administrator Associate certification by Microsoft is for people with prior experience in IT support or as system administrators.

This certification will grant you the knowledge needed to implement, manage, and monitor cloud services and environments, including storage and security. The certification expires in six months post-examination date.

Duration: Self-paced or instructor-led

Location: Online

Cost: $165

Practice exam for Azure Administrator Associate certification can be found here!

6. Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert

The Azure Solutions Architect Expert certification by Microsoft is for experienced programmers, developers, and DevOps engineers.

Passing this exam will ensure your skills in designing and implementing cloud solutions in the Azure environment. It also covers infrastructure solutions, data storage solutions, and business continuity solutions. The certification expires six months post-examination date.

Duration: Self-paced or instructor-led

Location: Online

Cost: $165

7. AWS Certified Solutions Architect, Associate

The AWS Certified Solutions Architect certification at the Associate level is designed for cloud solutions architects with some experience.

The certification exam will test your ability to come up with cloud solutions to implement during the project’s life cycle. The AWS certification is valid for three years.

Duration: Self-paced

Location: Online

Cost: $150

The full practice exam for the AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate Certification can be found here.

8. CompTIA Cloud+

The CompTIA Cloud+ certification is for people with two to three years of experience in cloud computing and system administration.

This performance-based, vendor-neutral certification tests you in cloud resource management, deployment and configuration, cloud security, system maintenance, and troubleshooting. The certification is valid for three years from the examination date.

Duration: Self-paced

Location: Online

Cost: $448

CompTIA Cloud+ Certification practice exam can be found here!

9. Certificate in Cloud Computing

The Cloud Computing Certificate Program by York University is a course for people already working in cloud and IT operations. It’s a vendor-neutral course that focuses on the solutions and knowledge rather than specific cloud environment vendors.

This program will cover various cloud service models and the associated business risks and implications. Through work-integrated learning, you’ll gain the skills to create cloud architecture diagrams to support cloud initiatives, various service and deployment models, and cloud governance. The certification has no expiration date.

Duration: Six months

Location: Online

Cost: $3,297

10. Cloud Computing Specialization

The Cloud Computing Specialization certification by the University of Illinois is an intermediate-level cloud computing Coursera course divided into four courses. The program covers areas from core distributed systems concepts and cloud applications to the fundamentals of cloud networking.

It includes hands-on practices and is taught by professional lecturers. The certification has no expiration date.

Duration: Self-paced at eight months

Location: Online

Cost: $29-$99 per month with a Coursera subscription; financial aid options available

Subscribe to Data Insider

Learn the latest news and best practices about data science, big data analytics, artificial intelligence, data security, and more.

Similar articles

Get the Free Newsletter!

Subscribe to Data Insider for top news, trends & analysis

Latest Articles