Watchdog Group Reveals 'Enemies of the Internet' List for 2012

Bahrain, France and Australia made the list; Libya was taken off.

BGR: The media group Reporters Without Borders has published its annual "Enemies of the Internet" list for 2012. As in previous years, the list names countries whose governments are deemed hostile to the free flow of ideas. New to the list this year was Bahrain, which joins Belarus, Burma, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Vietnam. Following the overthrow of Moammar Gadhafi, Libya came off the list.

The group also published a list of countries under surveillance for possible inclusion as a future enemy of the Internet. Somewhat surprisingly, it included France and Australia, as well as Egypt, Eritrea, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

Tags: Internet, government

0 Comments (click to add your comment)
Comment and Contribute


(Maximum characters: 1200). You have characters left.



IT Management Daily
Don't miss an article. Subscribe to our newsletter below.

By submitting your information, you agree that datamation.com may send you Datamation offers via email, phone and text message, as well as email offers about other products and services that Datamation believes may be of interest to you. Datamation will process your information in accordance with the Quinstreet Privacy Policy.