dcsimg

Tip: BlackBerry - How to Wipe It Clean

Wiping a BlackBerry will reset it to the default settings it shipped with—clearing all user files and additional applications. It is a smart thing to do whenever you’re about to part ways with a smartphone.
Posted January 12, 2009
By

Amy Mayer


RIM does a fine job of burying the "wipe handheld" function on its devices so you don't have to worry about every accidentally stumbling upon the feature. But, if you're getting rid of a device, especially if you're selling it, you want it to be clean.

To reset the BlackBerry Pearl 8110, for instance, go to the home screen then select Options-->Security Options-->General Settings and then press the Menu button. Wipe Handheld comes up in the menu, though it is not listed on the screen.

Wiping the handheld will reset it to the default settings it shipped with—clearing all user files and additional applications. It should not affect data stored on a separate microSD card, but you might want to remove your card just for peace of mind.

This article was first published on SmartPhoneToday.com.




Tags: security, data, Blackberry, IT, RIM


0 Comments (click to add your comment)
Comment and Contribute

 


(Maximum characters: 1200). You have characters left.

 

 

IT Management Daily
Don't miss an article. Subscribe to our newsletter below.

By submitting your information, you agree that datamation.com may send you Datamation offers via email, phone and text message, as well as email offers about other products and services that Datamation believes may be of interest to you. Datamation will process your information in accordance with the Quinstreet Privacy Policy.





×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.